A Race to Nothing

Tick-tock,

Tick-tock.

Time warps all around me.

There is a timer in my ear.

A coach yelling at me to go faster.

My parents telling me to hurry up –

or I may be late.

My head is spinning in circles.

Going through the motions over and over.

Slowly my legs begin to get tired.

The energy is starting to run out.

“Shut up!”

I scream at myself inside.

“There is no way I can stop now!”

The finish line is near.

I must

Keep

Going.

But then,

As I near the end of the race,

The finish line gets farther and farther away.

And then,

I stop.

And look back.

And realize I haven’t moved an inch from where I stared.

Leave a Reply

